It’s what’s on the inside that counts!

Recently my six year old daughter has been a bit preoccupied with her appearance – spending ages in front of the mirror doing her hair and pleading with us to wear fancy clothes and make-up so she can look “beautiful”.

I found this lovely quote that sums up “beauty” perfectly:

Beauty is not

in the face;

beauty is a light

in the heart.

– Kahlil Gibran

Prior to my daughter’s fascination with make-up etc I had already been working on a story about “appearance” and “change” called, “Have You Seen My Mother?”  This story is about Little Caterpillar, who wakes up early one morning to find that his mother has disappeared.   For weeks he travels around the garden searching high and low.  None of the other garden creatures have seen his mother either.   Eventually he finds himself right back where he started; exhausted and very worried.  Grasshopper explains to Little Caterpillar that his mother is inside a chrysalis changing into a butterfly.  Little Caterpillar is frightened.  He doesn’t want his mother to look different…

For months I’d read the story over and over again, making changes here and there.  Then, right when I was happy with the storyline, characters, message and ending, it suddenly dawned on me that a caterpillar’s mother is ALREADY a butterfly!!  Oh, no, what am I going to do?  It is a non-fiction story however I have included some facts about caterpillars and butterflies and I don’t want children to get the wrong idea about the life cycle of a caterpillar.

I thought perhaps I could change the title to, “Have You Seen My Sister?”  What do you think?  Doesn’t quite have the same appeal?

If you have any thoughts or suggestions I’d really appreciate it.  Please leave a comment and let me know.

Thanks 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “It’s what’s on the inside that counts!

  1. If the caterpillar knows his sister, they should probably be about the same age, having hatched from the same batch of eggs at the same time. So, he would be changing into a butterfly as well.

    Maybe a friend might work. The friend could be an older caterpillar of the same or different species who has gone off to metamorphosize into a butterfly.

    Like

    • Hi Dan,

      Thanks you for reading my blog and letting me know your thoughts. Very helpful. I did wonder about them all hatching at the same time if I made it his brother or sister that changed into the butterfly. A friend of mine suggested that Little Caterpillar could be searching for a group of caterpillars so then at the end of the story lots of beautiful butterflies would be emerging from their chrysalises. So, will work on a group of friends and see how it sounds. Lots to think about anyway. Thanks again.

      Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

