National Bookshop Day

I have had a brilliant time in Melbourne so far. The Florence and The Machine Charity Ball that my sister organised went off without a hitch last night and everyone had a great time (will blog about it when I get home) with money raised going to The Song Room.

This morning, after taking my nephew to the park, my sister and I visited a quaint little coffee shop book store called Booktalk on Swan Street. While sipping hot chocolates we browsed the shelves and found plenty of wonderful children’s books to chose from including favourites like: “When the Wind Changed” (we had this one as kids), “I went Walking”, “Fancy Nancy, Bonjour Butterfly” and “Edward the Emu”. After much deliberation I chose “Dear Zoo” by Rod Campbell for my nephew, “Olga the Brolga” by Rod Clement for my youngest daughter and “The Gruffalo’s Child” by Julia Donaldson for my eldest daughter (we’ve already got “The Gruffalo”).

My sister bought three large plastic (easy wipe for those sticky fingers and mushed up food) story books: “The Three Little Pigs”, “Jack and the Beanstalk” and “Goldilocks and the Three Bears”.

What books have you purchased lately?
Happy Reading everyone.

Go on... Tell me what you think...

