Relaxing Break

The first week of the holidays we traveled up to Rockhampton. We decided to take the inland route (too many road works on the coastal road) which was slightly longer but had plenty of new and interesting sights to see. Without any prior planning “Gigantic Fruits” became the theme of our journey.

Heading north we stopped briefly at The Big Orange in Gayndah (366km northwest of Brisbane) to pose for a photo and buy some oranges.Β  We had a quick look inside the orange and signed the visitor’s book.

Then heading back home we took a quick detour off the main road into Mundubbera (405km northwest of Brisbane) to fuel up and visit the The Big Mandarin.Β  The Mandarin was closed but we took a photo and picked some mandarins off a nearby tree.

A couple of years ago we saw The Big Banana in Coffs Harbour.

Have you seen any “Big Things” on your travels recently?

 

5 thoughts on “Relaxing Break

  1. I love BIG things πŸ™‚ I saw the banana a few years ago and the big pineapple. I’m visiting South Australia at the moment and there’s a big rocking horse not faraway πŸ™‚ Rockhampton is a nice place; my eldest lives at Gladstone with his wife and baby son and they’ve taken me to Rockhampton a few times when I’ve visited. I love the little zoo in their gardens πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hope you’re having a great time travelling around South Australia. If you visit the big rocking horse I’d love to see a photo. When we take the coast road we normally stop in at Calliope to visit a girlfriend from high school. The Rockhampton Botanical Gardens are great. We didn’t visit them this trip though.

      Like

      • I didn’t see the rocking horse this trip but I think I have a photo somewhere. I’ll have a look and send it to you πŸ™‚ I have a great time in SA – just got home a couple of hours ago. Tired but revived after tea and toast πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Glad to hear you’re home safe and sound. Would love to see a photo of the rocking horse if you have time. Hope everything gets sorted quickly for your October Mag and there are no more problems.
        Rachel

        Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

