Holiday Fun

When Miss 6 asked me if I could make her some play doh (haven’t made any for years and years) I envisaged my arms nearly dropping off as I stirred and stirred the play doh.  So you can imagine my joy when I got out the Kindergarten Recipe book, turned to the back and found MICROWAVE PLAY DOH!!!

The girls and I put all the ingredients into the bowl.  We each had a mix, then into the microwave.  Another stir each and then back into the microwave and done.  It slipped easily out of the bowl and the girls could start creating.  And… no soaking and scrubbing pots!

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup salt

4 tsps cream of tartar

2 cups water

2 cups plain flour

2 tbls oil

food colouring

Method:  Mix all the ingredients together until a smooth consistency (I used a wooden spoon but you could probably use  electric beaters).  Cook on high for 3 minutes.  Knead dough for approx 1 min.  Ours was still too runny to knead so we just mixed it again.  Cook for a further 2 mins.

Next time I might add some glitter!

Image

Image

Here’s Miss 6’s wonderful creation.  She then got paper and pen and wrote a story about the ladybird and the three snails (Big Tom, the father snail, Olivia, the mother snail, and Clara, the baby snail).

Go on... Tell me what you think...

