Book Club – The Casual Vacancy

If not for my Book Club choosing The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling after reading Travels with my Aunt by Graham Greene (not one of my favourites), I probably never would have read it.  There’s a couple of reasons why.  Firstly,  I had not read any of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books (I would like to read them though as A LOT of people have said how amazing they are) so I wasn’t phased at all when there was talk of her writing a book for adults.  Secondly,  I had no idea what the title meant or what the story was about as I had not read any reviews or the back of the book.  And lastly, even if I had read the back of the book I’m not sure if a story about a small English town rocked by the death of a Councillor named Barry Fairbrother would have excited me enough to read the story.

So, basically I had no expectations and no idea what this story was going to be like.  And I absolutely LOVED it.  I was pleasantly surprised – definitely my kind of book.

I found in the beginning there were a lot of intriguing characters to wrap my head around, but once I’d sorted out who was who and how they slotted into the story, it was an easy read.

I thoroughly enjoyed the story and thought that the book was well written – I laughed, I cried and … the ending blew me away!  I did not see that coming at all.

I’m interested to know what others thought of J.K. Rowling’s new book.  Did you enjoy the story?  Had you already the Harry Potter books?  Were you disappointed or was The Casual Vacancy just as brilliant?

4 thoughts on “Book Club – The Casual Vacancy

  1. I really liked it, I felt the voices were the strongest element and they really carried the story for me. The plot was a bit slow to start off with, but that didn’t bother me at all, I still got into it. I’d read all the Potter books, but I wasn’t surprised by the adult content, I just loved how adaptable Rowling was. Great review Rachel! 😀

    Like

  2. Ooh, I haven’t read it, but I’m definitely going to pop it onto my Kindle now! The Harry Potter books were excellent – I’m not sure I know of any series that large that had such consistent quality throughout the books.

    I miss my book club. I’m working my way terribly slowly through Anna Karenina – it’s a lovely book, but I struggle to make time to read it.

    Like

    • Hope you find time to read “The Casual Vacancy” I don’t have much time to read either so I’ve been reading at the gym when I’m on the bike! I gave up on our last book club book – “The Finkler Question”. I got half way through but wasn’t really enjoying it, probably because I couldn’t understand what was going on. So I’m giving that one back unfinished and have just started reading the next book – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I read the blurb and thought, “This is my kind of book” and so far so good. I haven’t read Anna Karenina.

      Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

