Gone Girl

Typically I don’t get to go on two luxurious weekends in a row.  However, during the month of May, I got to do just that.   I spent the first weekend in May relaxing at Byron Bay in a caravan park by the beach with my parents and sister and brother.  Then, during the mother’s day weekend I was tucked up snug as a bug in a log fire cabin (right beside a running waterfall), with my husband and two gorgeous girls (a surprise mother’s day treat) at Mount Tamborine.

2013-05-04-872 2013-05-04-888 2013-05-04-891On both occasions  I had plenty of time to read my latest book club book – Gillian Flynn’s best-selling third novel, Gone Girl.

Flynn’s disturbing portrayal of a marriage gone horribly wrong is a totally different read to my other favourite book club book – J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, but I enjoyed it just the same.

On Nick and Amy Dunne’s 5th wedding anniversary Nick returns home to find that a struggle has taken place and his beautiful wife has disappeared.

All the evidence points to nice-guy Nick, who according to Amy’s best friend, is not such a nice guy after all.  His constant lies, deceits  and unconcerned behaviour about his missing wife isn’t  helping his case one little bit.   Nick’s certainly bitter and has a few secrets to hide, but is he a killer?  And if not, where is Amazing Amy?   Things are not always what they seem and in this book you never know what to expect!

I love psychological thrillers so Gone Girl was definitely my type of book.  With a dark storyline told from Nick and Amy’s point of view, plenty of twists and surprises, some humour and brilliantly written characters, it was hard to put this book down, especially towards the end!

I’m now keen to read Gillian Flynn’s other novels – Sharp Objects, for which she won the 2007 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the best thriller and Dark Places.

After researching Gillian Flynn on Google I discovered that by the end of 2012, she had published Gone Girl, given birth to her first child and written the screenplay for the movie version of the novel, which is being produced by Reese Witherspoon.   Busy woman!  Also, a film of Dark Places, starring Charlize Theron, is also nearing completion.

I would love to hear what you thought about Gone Girl or if you’ve read any of Gillian Flynn’s other novels.

2 thoughts on “Gone Girl

  1. I found this book so readable but a bit slow, to be honest. I think we had it all figured out pretty quickly and it was just so NASTY. But, like you, I am keen to read her other books now. x

    Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

