Book Club

I’ve been a bit slack lately with my Book Club book reviews.  Over the last couple of months we have read The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (you can see its review in The Sydney Morning Herald here), The Catcher in the Rye, a 1951 novel by J.D. Salinger and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (my next post).

The Finkler Question was not my type of book.  I found the story to be quite slow and I wasn’t eagerly turning the pages wanting to find out what happened next.  I was just reading the book for the sake of it and in the end I got a bit lazy and didn’t actually finish reading it.

On the other hand, I really enjoyed The Catcher in the Rye.  I’d heard of this book before but didn’t have a clue what it was about and there wasn’t a blurb on the back of the book either.  So, I was surprised to discover that the story was told from the perspective of the main character, Holden Caulfield, a teenage boy  who had just been expelled from school for failing all of his subjects.  The Catcher in the Rye was an easy read filled with lots of humour.  The reader is taken on a journey with Holden into New York City to a dilapidated hotel where he stays for a few nights.  There will be adventures (some good, some bad), people to meet, struggles, drunken behaviour, music and dancing and mistakes to be made before Holden finally reaches his home. It was towards the end of the story where I finally discovered how the book got its title.

Have you read either of these books?  What did you think about them?

Go on... Tell me what you think...

