Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

A couple of weeks ago I was perusing the shelves of the “new books” section in my local library when the title of this book caught my eye.  I read the blurb on the back and thought that this would be an interesting story.  It definitely was.

Memoirs of an Imaginary friend by Matthew Green/Matthew Dicks is a heartwarming story about best friends Max and Budo.  Budo is eight year old Max’s imaginary friend. He is friendly and intelligent and looks just like a real boy because that’s the way Max imagined him to be.

Budo rides the bus to school with Max and looks after him throughout the day, trying to protect him from bullies and helping in awkward situations.  He also helps Max when he gets ‘stuck’.  Max gets stuck a lot, especially when he has to make decisions.   The only thing that Budo is worried about is Max not believing in him.  Because, If that happens, then poof!  No more Budo.

Budo knows that Max is in danger but he is unable to communicate with Max’s teachers and parents.  Then, one day Max disappears and Budo has to put his own fears behind him as he is the only one that can save Max.

Told from the point of view of a child’s imaginary friend, this is a unique story of life, love and friendship.  I loved reading this story with its creative imaginary characters and finding out about their imaginary world.  It’s one of those books that you don’t want to put down.  You want to keep reading to find out what happens next.

Have you read Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend?  What did you think?

Did you once have an imaginary friend?

5 thoughts on “Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

    • Hello. Sorry to take so long to respond. I’ve been away on holidays!! It is a very interesting story but it’s an adult/YA novel. There aren’t any pictures. I haven’t come across any children that have imaginary friends yet.

      Like

  1. (⇀‸↼‶) I’ve never had an imaginary friend during my childhood time, I guess I’ve spent most of the time fighting with my brother (who is 3 years younger) over everything…LOL…ε=ε=ε=┌(;*´Д`)ノ

    Happy October, my friend!

    Hope everything is well over there and may this month be a wonderful and beautiful one for you and your loved ones!

    Take care and be well, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    Like

    • No, I didn’t have an imaginary friend either. My sister and I usually played together and left my poor brother out! I wonder if it’s mainly only children that have imaginary friends. The boy in the story was an only child.

      All is good over here. Weather is warming up and we’ve just got back from a two week holiday travelling down to Melbourne and back.

      Have a good one too! 🙂

      Like

      • Aww…your poor brother..perhaps he is the one having an imaginary friend…LOL…perhaps, being the only child may be one of the causes.

        Great to know that everything is fine over there.

        Have a great weekend ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

        Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

