Book Club – The Happiest Refugee

Not only is Anh Do a talented and funny comedian, he is inspiring, courageous and an all round nice guy. Any t.v. show that he’s involved in is always good to watch. He was very funny in his episode of Thank God You’re Here! Unfortunately I missed him on Dancing with the Stars, but I imagine he would have been a terrific entertainer.

I learnt a bit more about Anh when he appeared on the television show, Pictures of You, hosted by funnyman Brian Nankerivs. Anh told hilarious stories of his childhood and I was amazed at all that he had been through.

I then found his picture book The Happiest Refugee at the library and read it to my two daughters. So when my bookclub said we were reading Anh Do’s memoir The Happiest Refugee as our next bookclub book I couldn’t wait to get started.

The Happiest Refugee is easy to read and full of funny and sad stories of how Anh and his family bravely journeyed by boat to Australia when Anh was two years old. They settled in Sydney where Anh and his brother Khoa and sister Tram grew up, encountering many triumphs and tragedies along the way. Anh looked out for his family. They didn’t have much money but Anh did what he could to help his mum with all the work. He didn’t let anyone or anything stand in his way.

Photos of Anh and his family are found in a couple of sections of the book which really added to the story.

I really enjoyed this book and discovered that Anh starred in a movie (written by him and his brother Khoa) called Footy Legends. I will have to see if I can find it as I’d love to watch it.

Have you read The Happiest Refugee or seen Footy Legends? What did you think?

One thought on “Book Club – The Happiest Refugee

Go on... Tell me what you think...

