We Need To Talk About Kevin

A couple of weekends ago all the book club ladies met at my place to chat about “Kevin” and boy was there a lot to discuss! “We Need to Talk About Kevin” is a novel by Lionel Shriver about a fictional school massacre, although, the way she told the story I kept thinking it was based on a true story. The novel is written from the perspective of the killer’s mother, Eva Khatchadourian, and documents her attempt to come to terms with her son Kevin and the murders he committed. Although told in the first person as a series of letters from Eva to her husband, the novel is full of suspense and twists and turns (which I did not see coming). This is Shriver’s seventh novel and won the 2005 Orange Prize, a U.K.-based prize for female authors of any country writing in English. I didn’t realise this novel was made into a film (in 2011) until I saw Tilda Swinton on the front cover. I’ll add it to my list of movies to see.

Have you read the novel or seen the movie? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “We Need To Talk About Kevin

  1. Hi there! 🙂 I’ve not read the book – I kept seeing it come through the library shoot after the movie came out (I work in a library). It’s not something I would normally pick up but the title and premise is intriguing…! I’ll have to add it to my list. Tilda Swinton is an amazing actress 🙂

    Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

