Welcome Back

Hello. It’s nice to be back, finally!  Had a few busy months there and didn’t have time to blog.

I really enjoyed participating in NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month) last year.  It pushed my boundaries and made me focus.  It was fun, as well as a bit stressful, trying to get the word count every day.  Unfortunately, due to work commitments, house duties and family dramas etc, I didn’t get to complete the 50 000 words but I was very pleased with the effort I put in to get my 25 000 word count. I also have lots more ideas of where my story is going to go so will continue to work on it during the year.

I’ve just finished reading Marian Keyes’ “The Women who Stole my Life” (I bought it for a friend but had to read it first!!  :)) and it was excellent.  She’s one of my favourite authors and I’ve read most of her books.  If you’re looking for a bit of a pick-me-up, this book is for you.  It’s lots of fun with some drama and romance too.  Marian Keyes has a way with words and can make something totally non-significant into something very funny.  Her characters are engaging and say the funniest things. I was laughing out loud.

Here’s a bit of the blurb:

“One day, sitting in traffic, married Dublin mum Stella Sweeney attempts a good deed.  The resulting car crash changes her life.  For she meets a man who wants her telephone number (for the insurance, it turns out).  That’s okay.  She doesn’t really like him much anyway (his Range Rover totally banjaxed her car).”

Other books by Marian Keyes:  Sushi for Beginners, This Charming Man, Angels, Rachel’s Holiday, Lucy Sullivan is getting Married.

What books have you read recently?

8 thoughts on “Welcome Back

  1. Hi, I have been reading the new Kate Forsyth series, The Impossible Quest. Five books in all. Half way through book three. Great adventure, with unicorns and griffins! These have been a good buffer in between some WW2 reading research. I finished Richard Flanagan’s, The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Whoa, so deep, true and beautifully written.

    Like

    • That’s where I’ve seen Kate’s name! I get the AWC newsletter emailed to me and she teaches courses in Sydney. Do you get that email? It’s full of helpful writing tips, courses that are coming up. competitions and podcasts.

      Like

      • Yes, I do get the AWC email. It’s great. I was fortunate enough to attend a workshop in November held by Kate at the Sa Writers Centre. She is a natural storyteller. Her website and blog have good tips too. SA Writers’ week on 28 Feb. some fabulous Authors in attendance. Looking forward to it. Hope your writing is going well this week!

        Like

      • The workshop with Kate would have been fantastic. I’m looking forward to the CYA Conference in Brisbane this year – always lots of good authors, publishers and agents giving helpful hints and telling their story. I knuckled down this week and entered a writing competition and sent off a manuscript. I’m wondering whether to try and apply for a Grant next round with the Copyright Agency’s Creative Individuals Career Fund. Have you ever applied for a Grant? How’s your writing going? Looking forward to seeing the next two pages of Delia.

        Like

      • Good work, sending off a manuscript. Good luck! No I haven’t applied for a grant, but it’s a great idea. Are u in QLD? We’re coming up for a holiday in April. Should’ve made it a little later! Unfortunately, I have had to go back to my day job 5 days a wk, and NO time to write. And ….. I am having a bit of a blogger writers block issue, thinking of what to post next! Although I have been writing in my Daydream book by my bedside, which Kate suggested in the workshop. Buy yourself a notebook. Spend 5-10 mins in the morning upon waking, and the same before sleeping, writing and daydreaming about your current project. A little difficult for me to execute in the morning! The evenings are more fruitful! Also I’m wanting to get creative and cover some notebooks, and use them as childhood memory books. You know,how you have so much in your head, it needs to come out and I have so many lovely memories of my grandparents. I need to categorise my thoughts.
        Enjoy your weekend😄😄

        Like

      • Yes I’m in QLD, in Brisbane. Are you coming to Brisbane? Would love to meet if you have time! That’s no good that you’ve had to go back to work and can’t write as much as you used to. It’s hard to find spare time when you’re working. I like your daydream book idea from Kate. I will do that too. Sometimes I lie in bed for hours thinking of ideas and then saying them over and over in my head so I don’t forget them in the morning! Should just get up and write it down instead. I’ve been wanting to get into some sewing too – bunting and handbags from old denim jeans. My daughter is keen for me to teach her to sew so tomorrow we’re going to have a go at a simple elastic skirt. I’m thinking two rectangles, stitch them together, hem, waistband and elastic. Might write a post about it! 🙂 Hope you come up with some ideas for your next blog post. Will it be another Delia page? Have fun covering your notebooks (I love scrapbooking too) and writing down all your treasured grandparent memories. I should do that too with my Grandma – she has so many funny stories to tell. 🙂

        Like

      • I just read another post about Bloggers Block and thought you might like a read. Here’s the link: https://blondewritemore.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/10-things-to-do-when-you-are-suffering-from-bloggers-block/ (hope that works!). Also, do you get the wordpress emails? They have a free blogging course and photography course that you can sign up to. I just signed up to Blogging 101 and thought you might be interested too. If you don’t get the emails and want to join up I’ll send the link.

        Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

