The Birdwatcher

In December 2013 actor/author William McInnes came to the Redcliffe library to talk about his latest book at the time, “The Birdwatcher”.  I booked tickets for my sister and I and we enjoyed a lovely evening at the library drinking wine and eating nibbles while sitting in the front row listening to a hilarious William McInness.  He is a natural storyteller and told us all about his life growing up in Redcliffe. We couldn’t stop laughing. At the end of the talk we lined up to get a photo with William and he signed our books. Such a nice guy!

I have just finished reading “The Birdwatcher” and loved it. As I read the book I pictured William playing the main character, David and read his dialogue using William’s voice. I think it would make a great movie, starring William McInnes or course! This is the first book of his that I’ve read and I’m keen to read more.

Here’s a bit of the blurb:

“It’s part love story, part Hot Diggity moments of discovery, whether they happen in a rainforest or while sitting on a verandah, or in somebody’s heart.”

Just recently I read that his new book called “Holidays” is all about his life in Redcliffe. That would be a good one to read.

He spoke at the Redcliffe library last December too but unfortunately I was unable to go. Maybe he’ll return at the end of this year and I’ll get front row seats again!

Happy Reading everyone.

Go on... Tell me what you think...

