Perfect Picture Book Friday (PPBF) – How Martha Saved her Parents from Green Beans

Every kid hates green beans don’t they?

Title:  How Martha Saved her Parents from Green Beans  FullSizeRender (13)

Author: David LaRochelle

Illustrator:  Mark Fearing

Age: 4-7 year olds

Opening lines:  Every Tuesday evening Martha’s family had green beans for dinner.  Every Tuesday night Martha was left alone at the table, staring at a plate of green beans that she wouldn’t eat.

Synopsis:  Martha doesn’t realise how bad green beans are until a gang of mean green beans with long curly mustaches and sharp pointy boots swagger into town, wrecking havoc and stealing her parents.  There’s only one way to deal with these vile veggies and it’s not going to end well (for the beans anyway).

What I like about this book:  The story is hilarious – the notion of the green beans coming to get revenge on all who say “Eat your green beans.”  I like that Martha is brave and does whatever it takes to save her parents (and the rest of the world) even though she thinks beans are disgusting.  The pictures are also very funny – close ups of the beans with their cowboy hats, pirate hats, patches, scars and beards and mustaches.

Don't mess with us!

Don’t mess with us!

Let my parents go or I will...

Let my parents go or I will…

The moral of the story is …

“Eat your vegetables before they eat you!”

To see all the other Perfect Picture Books (PPB) with resources, please visit author Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Books.

15 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday (PPBF) – How Martha Saved her Parents from Green Beans

    • They are aren’t they? When I first read the book I could not stop laughing at the pictures. I love the close ups and there’s also a great page where the beans are tying up the parents with long leafy vines.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t believe I STILL have not read this book! I think this is the 5th time it’s been posted for PPBF – you’d think I’d have taken the hint by now 🙂 I love the concept because it’s something my mom struggled with mightily as a kid – and we got to hear about many times 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing it, Rachel!

    Like

Go on... Tell me what you think...

